Primary Caregiver Restriction

New system settings have been added to restrict access of a care recipients care notes to only the Primary Caregiver.

To access the new system settings, sign in as an administrator and click the Administration menu, followed by the System Settings menu item at the end of the menu list.  The following page will appear.

On the left-hand side there are four (4) options:

  • Restrict access to recipient care notes to the Primary Caregiver.

    This option will only allow the Primary Caregiver to view the Recipients care notes. However, because this option may be turned on at any time, anyone in a Caregiver role will be able to view notes that they have authored. Also, any Caregiver may author a care note. This does not restrict care note entry only the viewing of care notes by other authors.

  • Restrict the display of recipients to their Primary Caregiver 

    This option will only display a Recipient in the recipient listing when the logged-in user is the Recipient’s Primary Caregiver. This option is independent of the Primary Caregiver restriction above.

  • Allow those in a Caregiver role to add new Recipients.

    This option only has meaning if access is restricted to the Primary Caregiver.
    By setting this option, a Caregiver may Add a new Recipient.

  • Allow those in an Office Staff role to add new Recipients.

    This option only has meaning if access is restricted to the Primary Caregiver.
    By setting this option, a person in the Office Staff role may Add a new Recipient.

When either or both of the options are checked above, the Caregiver or Office Staff member may create a new Recipient but can not assign the Primary Caregiver. Instead, they can write a brief note to the Care Administrator. The Care Administrator will receive an email with the note and the name of the new Recipient when the Recipient is saved. The Care Admin should assign a Primary Caregiver as soon as time permits.

Those in the Admin or Clergy role may create recipients, write care notes and see all existing care notes.

These options also restrict what is displayed in the reports.